Interview With Michael Kibwage

Michael Kibwage

Michael Kibwage


Date of birth/Age: Oct 1, 1997 (25)

Nationality: Kenyan

Height: 1,82 m

Position: Centre-Back

Current Club : Tusker FC


We had a chat with Michael Kibwange of Tusker FC, here is what he had to say 


Can you tell us about your journey to becoming a professional football player in the Kenya Premier League?


It has not been an easy one but I thank God so far for where I am currently, I started my career at a very young age (8years) at FISA Academy in South B, Nairobi. After my primary education in Nairobi South Primary School, I got a scholarship to join Mukumu Boys High School in Kakamega form 1-4 (2013-2016) while turning out for FISA Academy still. 

In school the competition was so high that I didn’t get enough playtime, it was very discouraging to train so hard but still you are not fielded. My worry was what I was giving back to the school after they are sponsoring my education yet I am not featuring. I continued working smart until i reached form 4 when now I got my chance to play for the school after which I grabbed the opportunity with both hands and since then I played in all the games that year as it was my last in high school. I was selected to represent kakamega homeboyz the same year in the Kenya Premier League Under 20 championships which I featured in all the games in the three editions

I had a stellar performance in all those editions after which I signed my first professional contract after completing my high school with AFC leopards SC for two years (2017-2018). I later joined the bankers KCB FC for two years also (2019-2020). Later I joined Sofapaka football club for another two years (2021-2022)

Currently I am at Tusker FC.


What do you think are your greatest strengths as a player?


Great physique 

Ball player 

Team player 

A leader

Good game reader

Good on aerial balls

Good communication


How do you prepare for a match? Can you walk us through your pre-game routine?


Learning my opponents on how they play and I try to prepare on how to handle them in the games, I like listening to music before the game it awakens me to get ready for the game.


What do you think are the key skills necessary to succeed in the Kenya Premier League?


Be Disciplined

Be coachable

Work smart

Pray for God’s favour also you know there are many footballers who also need that chance so you also need God’s blessings that’s why need to be more prayerful.


How do you deal with the pressure of performing in high-pressure matches?


Just motivating myself and believing that am the best in that game so I can endure this is just a game like the previous one



Write a comment

Comments: 0